Prestigious Arkwright Engineering Scholarship for Exeter School pupil

News & events

Prestigious Arkwright Engineering Scholarship for Exeter School pupil

Eight pupils in eight years

An Exeter School pupil has been awarded a sought-after Arkwright Engineering Scholarship that identifies him as one of the country’s future leaders in engineering and related areas of design.

Lower Sixth Former Tom Wright is the eighth pupil in eight years to receive the prestigious scholarship, following in the footsteps of seven alumni including his older brother Sebastian.

The renowned Arkwright Engineering Scholarships provide pupils with a £600 financial award to enhance their A Level studies and a range of activities to increase their understanding and experience of engineering.

Exeter School will also receive £400 for each Scholarship awarded.

Tom had to successfully complete a rigorous selection process including a detailed application form, a two-hour aptitude exam and an interview hosted at a top engineering university.

Tom said he was really pleased to be awarded an Arkwright scholarship. “I hope to study Mechanical Engineering at university as I enjoy the subject's problem solving aspects,” he said.

He thanked his sponsor, The Reece Foundation, and Exeter School for their support with his application and portfolio. Sponsors provide placement opportunities and ongoing advice and mentoring to the pupils.

Head of Design Technology Martin Rose said he was delighted with Tom’s success.

“We have a proud tradition of Arkwright Scholarships at Exeter School, established by the former Head of DT Nick Moon, which I am pleased to continue.

“Tom follows alumni Kirsten Berggren and Jethro White (2009); Luke Stitson and David Salmon (2011); Ben Bryant (2012); and Seb Wright and James Krafft (2013).”

Arkwright Scholarships are respected by leading universities and industrial companies and are supported by top engineering employers and organisations such as Rolls-Royce, BAE Systems, National Grid, Balfour Beatty, Microsoft Research, Thales, The Royal Air Force, The Royal Navy and the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

The Scholarships are also funded by charitable donors including, principal donors The Reece Foundation, The Lloyd’s Register Foundation, the Gannochy Trust, the Dulverton Trust, the Emmott Foundation and S.F.I.A Educational Trust.

The Scholarships will be formally presented at a prestigious ceremony supported by The Institution of Engineering and Technology later in the year.