A win for Exeter School

News & events

A win for Exeter School

OE v School Golf

The annual Old Exonians Golf Day took place in May at the Exeter Golf and Country Club. The sun shone, the greens were perfect and the large pond on the 18th with its sparkling fountain beckoned a few stray balls! Masterminded once again by Eddie Trick (1967-1972), 37 players took part. This year the five members of the School team achieved a high final average Stableford points score that beat the OEs, resulting in a win for the School in the competition for the Joe Mullins Trophy.

School staff John Davidson and Mike Wilcock welcomed the OEs home for some liquid refreshments and a catch up of news before the excellent evening meal at the Club and the presentation of awards. 

Miles Dashwood (1970 - 1975) won the Nigel Hook Trophy for the morning 9 hole, with Greg Crosse (1990 - 1994) coming a close second. Ben Ford from School won the longest drive on the 18th.  Upper Sixth Former Rory Haddow just missed out on closest to the pin on the 4th when Tim Lee (1994 - 2005) managed to get within two foot whilst playing in the final group.

The John Jago Over 55 Trophy went to Martin Davies (1973 - 1980) and the overall team winners were Oli Chatterjee (1995 - 2000), Mark Scoble (1991 - 1996), Andrew Neligan (1991 - 1996) and Matthew Reynolds (1992 - 1997).

The Domville Cup for the overall individual winner went to Oli Chatterjee, with Mark Scoble coming a close second place.

The other players this year were Julien Harrison (1944-1951), Dave Evennett (1954-1966), Adrian Knight (1955-1963), John Osborne (1962-1968), Nigel Hook (1963-1971), Tim Davies (1964-1971), Peter German (1964-1972), Chris Taylor (1964-1972), Eddie Trick (1967-1972), Paul Keeling (1970-1975), Mark Bonning-Snook (1969 - 1980), Iain McNeil (1973-1980), Rupert Pratt (1977-1984), Mark Dixie (1978-1984), Chris Bryant (1983-1986), Richard Cousins (1980-1987), Gary Dixie (1981-1987), Jeremy Douch (1982 - 1987), Andy Shepherd (1996-2003), Harry Trick (1996-2003), Tom Dolling (1996 - 2003), Mike Kay (1975 – 1981) and Mike Wilcock (staff).